Water Ski Show Capital of the World

    Wisconsin Water Ski Hall of Fame Eligibility Criteria

    Wisconsin Water Ski Hall of Fame

    The following criteria, set forth in 1999, shall guide in the selection of inductees for the Wisconsin Water Ski Hall of Fame. Final selection of inductees is made by the Hall of Fame Committee of the Wisconsin Water Ski Federation, and all selections are to be approved by majority vote of the full board of directors.

    Eligibility Criteria for Competitive Water Skiers

    The Wisconsin Water Ski Hall of Fame is not intended to be a national hall of fame. Only water skiers with Wisconsin ties may qualify.

    Nominees with Wisconsin ties are those who were eligible to compete in any Wisconsin state championships.

    Nominees cannot be a member of the WWSF Hall of Fame Committee.

    Competitors from all recognized sport disciplines are eligible for nomination.

    Nominees must have competed in state, regional, and national tournaments for at least 10 years.

    Nominees should be retired from competition for at least five years.

    Nominees may, however, be active as an official or otherwise be involved in the sport.

    The WWSF Hall of Fame Committee should consider other factors for competitive water skiers.

    Major Factors:

    Established records at state, regional, national, world, and/or other tournaments.

    Sportsmanship, character, and integrity.

    Minor Factors:

    Competitive record in local, state, regional, national, world, and/or other tournaments.

    Service as an official, driver, safety director, administrator, or promoter of the sport of water skiing.

    Competitive or supporting record in other sport disciplines.

    Eligibility Criteria for Officials & Support Personnel

    It is not possible to outline specific eligibility criteria in a category as broad as that of water ski officials and support personnel. Generally, a candidate would be recognized for major contributions to the sport over a considerable number of years. Selection is not based on an isolated outstanding contribution. At the same time, mere length of service, however dedicated and generous, that cannot be said to have contributed significantly to the progress of the sport in one or more areas is not sufficient. The emphasis shall be on achievements, not on offices held or time served.

    The term official is intended to encompass a wide range of function within the sport. Primary consideration will be given to contributions to the sport as a judge, driver, scorer, safety director, WWSF officer, WWSF sport discipline director, WWSF committee chair, AWSA councilperson, NSSA representative, etc. Similar positions in other national and regional water skiing organizations shall also be considered.

    Secondary consideration will be given to contributors for officiating tournaments, chairing major tournaments, tournament announcers, water skiing writers, and promoters of the sport. With respect to all of these functions, the primary emphasis is on contributions of a regional or national significance, with secondary consideration based on local and state contributions. Nominees are not generally judged on a single function, but rather a cumulation of contributions in all the areas in which the person was involved. It is expected that most nominees will have contributed in several area, even though one area may dominate.

    Generally, 15 years of service to the sport at local, state, regional, national, and world-wide levels is required as a minimum for consideration, but exceptions may be made in extraordinary circumstances. Length of service is more of a measure of the extent of the nominee's dedication to the sport.

    Retirement from active involvement in the sport is neither a requirement for nomination, nor is it encouraged. Generally, a nominee will not be considered when there is still a great deal more that he or she may be expected to contribute. At the same time, the committee should not wait until the death of a nominee to recognize significant contributions to the sport. As a general rule of thumb, a nominee should be at least 40 years of age unless the candidate was clearly retired prior to that time.

    Eligibility Criteria for Water Skiing Pioneers

    This category is neither defined, nor definable, but it is intended for nominees whose contributions to the sport do not fall into the other two categories. Those whose principal contributions are as water skiing officials should not be considered as pioneers. Other qualifications would be similar to those for officials, pertaining to length of service; impact at a local, state, regional, national, or world level; and age and retirement status.

    © 2021 Wisconsin Water Ski Federation | Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin. All Rights Reserved.